Poetry

To the One I Loved and Left Behind

To the one I loved and left behind,
whose shadows trail still in my mind;
To the one I lost and lost again,
I am still adrift, lost, fallen.

Our haunting tune, it still plays on,
bringing memories where there were none;
Although I try to lose its song,
our melody, it plays on and on.

To the one I loved and left behind,
what tangled dreams are we yet to find?
We have drunk of sorrows, tasted lies,
we have wrought a demon that never dies.

Our mortal bodies may live and fade,
we build and lose all that we have made;
But to the one whom I love still,
it stays the same and always will.

To the one I loved and left behind,
and all the ties we cannot unbind,
Let it stay, let it rest, lay it down,
we shall reap of the seeds that we have sown.

Years and years and decades passed,
and yet here we meet again at last;
To the one I loved and left behind,
what unspoken secrets are we now to find?

Leave a Reply

